Go To Search
Click to Home
City Council

City Council Function & Composition

As specified in the City of Gloucester Charter:

"There shall be a City Council consisting of nine members which shall exercise the legislative powers of the city. Four of these members, to be known as councilors at-large, are to be nominated and elected by and from the voters of the City, at-large. Five of the members, to be known as ward councilors, are to be nominated and elected by and from the voters of five City wards, one ward councilor to be elected from each such ward."

Councilors are elected to 2-year terms in municipal elections held every two years in odd-numbered years. The Council is responsible for the enactment of the City Laws which are found in the Code of Ordinances and in the Gloucester Zoning Ordinance. The Council, which meets on the second and fourth Tuesdays of each month at 7:00 pm in City Hall follows procedural rules adopted by the Council to conduct business.

In connection with this legislative and zoning power, the City Council holds public hearings on proposed changes to the laws including adopting new laws and on applications for various types of Zoning Permits. See the City Clerk's Permit page for more information and applications.

The Council also confirms appointments to the City Offices including department heads and members of City boards and commissions.

Under the City Charter, the Council has three standing committees, each of which  is comprised of three members. The Standing Committees hold regular public meetings to consider the matters referred to them by the Council. 

On January 24, 2017 the Gloucester City Council voted to adopt the Civility Resolution.

Agendas and Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. 
Most Recent AgendaView All

Minutes are also available following approval. 
Most Recent MinutesView All

The following are the members of the City Council. Addresses are in Gloucester, Massachusetts.

Councillors At Large



Phone Number

Paul Lundberg, President
5 Bridgewater Street
Ph: 978-282-8871
Melissa Cox
45 Warner Street
Ph: 978-631-9015
Jen Holmgren
385 Magnolia Avenue
Ph: 978-335-4748
James W. O'Hara, Jr.
55 Lexington Avenue
Ph: 978-979-7533

Ward Councillors


Ward Number


Phone Number

R. Scott Memhard Ward I 9 Graystone Road Ph: 978-283-1955
Kenneth Hecht
Ward II 191 Main Street #3
Ph: 617-755-9400
Steven G. LeBlanc, Jr., Vice President Ward III 9 Carlisle Street Ph: 978-283-3360
Valerie H. Gilman Ward IV 75 Revere Street  Ph: 978-621-4682
Sean P. Nolan Ward V 126R Magnolia Avenue Ph: 978-375-8381

Home     Contact Us     Documents     Pay Bills     Departments     Translate     Sitemap     Accessibility     Employment     Copyright     Powered by CivicPlus